1-(855) 637-1331 Call Now for a free confidential assessment
Death of a Loved One

Death of a Loved One

The death of someone, or something you felt a deep love for is a very painful experience.


During this time you may feel difficult emotions, and it may seem like your deep sorrow will never be able to be fixed. These are very normal emotions to be experiencing. Although there is no wrong or right way to grieve, they’re healthy ways you can manage the pain.


  • Shock and disbelief. The moment you find out that you’ve lost a loved one or something you loved accepting the loss can be very difficult. You may experience trouble believing the loss really happened, you can also experience feelings and expectations that your loved one will still show up even though they are gone.
  • Sadness. Sadness is one of the most experienced symptoms of grief. Other feels that accompany sadness are feelings of emptiness, despair, and deep loneliness.
  • Guilt. Suffering a loss of a loved one can often cause you to feel guilty about things you didn’t do or say while he or she was still here. Even after a death, you may feel guilty for not performing actions that you may think could have prevented the death from happening.
  • Anger. Even if the death was from natural causes you may feel angry with yourself, doctors, God, or even the person who died. Anger is usually present when you need to place the blame on someone or something to justify what happened.
  • Fear. After a loved one has passed you may notice an increase in anxiety, panic attacks, and the feeling of helplessness. The death of a loved one is known to cause triggers of your fears. Physical symptoms. Grief involves not only our emotional state but also our physical as well. Grief can cause weight loss or weight gain, nausea, insomnia, aches and pains, and fatigue.
During the death of a loved one you will go through the five stages of grief. The five stages of grief include:
  • Denial: “This can’t be happening to me.”
  • Anger: “Why is this happening? Who is to blame?”
  • Bargaining: “Make this did not happen, and I will ____.”
  • Depression: “I’m too sad to do anything.”
  • Acceptance: “I’m at peace with what happened.”


When you lose someone close to you, it's normal to be sad, depressed and for you to feel a whole host of emotions.


Although going through the five stages of grief will normally help your feelings toward the situation. You can also seek help from a psychologist, therapist, and psychiatrist, while you’re grieving and even after you’ve accepted the death.